On Talking Heads Videos

I’ll admit, I was close to writing an actual thought-out post this evening. But I felt compelled to post these videos instead … the ridiculousness of the world has reached new levels, I think.

I recommend watching, or at least browsing, these in order. Quick reviews listed with each video:

Talking Heads, “Once in a Lifetime”

David Byrne (lead singer) dressed like a cross between Clark Kent and Pee Wee Herman, spasming in front of a green screen. Oh and there are about a half-dozen of him.

Talking Heads, “Burning Down the House”

Byrne’s disembodied head, by itself and superimposed on other peoples’ faces, with a nice conclusion of a kid playing David Byrne playing a guitar.

Tom Jones and the Cardigans singing “Burning Down the House”

I don’t know why, but there are CGI Capri-Sun-liquid people, and it’s disco. Be afraid.

Talking Heads, “Nothing But Flowers” (one of my favorites)

I don’t even know. Karaoke? I LOVE THIS

Talking Heads, “Wild Wild Life”

How many wigs does this man have access to???

Talking Heads, “And She Was”

I love the atomic brightness and the Square-One-ish quality

David Byrne, Interview with Himself (from “Stop Making Sense”)

He’s even uncomfortable talking to himself! “I’ll tell you later…”

And let’s not forget the crazy Squidward-looking dance…

Talking Heads, “Burning Down the House / Life During Wartime (Live)”

Go right to about 5:28 to see just the dance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

